MY FIRST TIME SHOPPING FOR MAKEUP.

image

Hey guys what is up? Yes today I’ll be telling you guys about my first time going to buy makeup because I must say, it was really weird and kind of awkward for me especially since my mom literally abandoned me and went to buy groceries while I was left to go and buy makeup.

For me makeup has always been wearing eyeliner and putting on some lipstick so last week for me to actually decide to go on and buy a bit more was because Prom is coming up very soon and I wanted to get a bit familiar with the products so that it wouldn’t be a mess the day of prom( I’m doing my own makeup) So me and my mom went last weekend to go buy the whole shabang , she had given me a R150 which I thought was set to buy at least the essentials. I thought I could buy up some lipsticks, lip liner and maybe some eyeshadow but boy was I so wrong. Girls, Make Up Is Not Cheap! I might sound like a goofball but I did not think that I’d see the prices I saw i also think that it would have been much better knowing which brands were the greatest because there were so many products, i didnt know which to pick. Can we also talk about brushes, guys I didn’t know that a brush could go up to R80?!

Another thing is that it was awkward. Every time I went into the makeup aisle everyone was like looking at me like who’s this hobo? Is she lost? How old is she? I mean I had done my research so that I knew exactly what was what just incase someone asked me if I was alright but everyone was looking at me weirdly. I think it’s because where I’m from, people kind of take it the wrong for a 16 year old  to be wearing makeup so whenever I went to the till they kept on asking who’s it for? But you’re so pretty, you don’t need makeup! And I had to explain to everyone that no, Prom was coming and i need some makeup.

So what I did is go into all the shops that makeup in the shopping centre and scanned everything. I was literally sitting on the floor looking at the colours, whether it was matte, have I heard about this product before and just like staring at products. Seriously a lady had to come ask me if I was okay. I’d go into each shop and write down all the products that I was interested In and write down their prices and then I’d go to other shops and compare what was what then decide if I still wanted to buy this product or not or which was cheaper. Then for lipsticks I’d look around if there was anyone watching and then do some swatches on my wrist and see which colours I liked. If there was someone, then I’d look at the swatches on my hand pretending to be very interested in the colours. Literally I was a maniac.

I kept on telling myself that it was a start and that that’s probably how each and every other girl started. So I kept on smiling and kept on explaining why I was busy comparing prices like crazy or how I couldn’t see any of the matte lipsticks. All in all though, it was great I actually kind of felt like that’s a step of growing up, that I’m kind of moving from this stage into the next one. I loved the whole experience besides the looks and the questions asked and I think I’m surely gonna go back next month, with a little more moola of course and I’ll research more on which products are better.  I loved everything that I got and I’m happy with the products I bought, it’s not some fancy brands but it’s a start.

WHAT I LEARNT?
• Makeup is not cheap
• Do some product research first.

Yuup guys thats my experience buying makeup for the first time, please tell me your experiences and tell me how you got about buying makeup. Do you guys ever get looks when buying makeup or get asked questions even though it’s  it your first time? Next week some time I’ll do a blog post on what I bought, so you can see the few things.

Stay connected.
Instagram x theeoriginaljay
Twitter x journeylekhulen

image

4 thoughts on “MY FIRST TIME SHOPPING FOR MAKEUP.

Leave a Reply

