HOW TO CLEAN AND MAINTAIN WHITE CONVERSE.

image

Hey guys what is up?! Late last week another blogger, her name is Helen. Asked on instagram how to maintain and keep white sneakers white. She basically was just asking about how to keep them clean and away from the dirt. Because we all know how hard of a job maintaining white sneakers is I actually thought of visiting the net and searching for some tips on how to keep them white and all that jazz. Because guys I swear to you I would have worn my white shoes once and have thrown them away from how dirty they looked. I do however have my own tips that I’ve been using and that have helped me a lot so I’m going to share them with you. Oh by the way I did answer Helen if you were wondering.


At first i actually never wanted any white shoes, I didnt even think about them because I felt like it was hard work and I didn’t feel like sitting hours scrubbing  shoes. To actually learn about some of these tips and all of these things about white shoes was because last year my granny bought me some white tommies for Christmas and if you know Nelspruit then you know that the ground is literally red sand so walking out from the house to the gate with white shoes looks like you’ve been walking for hours and hours. So I had to learn how to keep them shoes white cause I was dying with all the scrubbing. Here’s what I learnt.

My Tips.
Have you ever washed your sneakers (converse) and felt that they looked white enough and left them to dry? But then after they’ve dried, you check them and find that suddenly there’s these drainy, veiny kind of marks?

Here’s what I do.
This is what my whole family does actually. So what you want to do is to first use a dry cloth to dry them and try to get as much as possible water out. Then you take tissue paper and wrap each shoe individually, making sure that it’s wrapped in a way as if the tissue is stuck on the shoe. This will also soak up all the excess water. And then when your shoes are dry, they’ll be perfectly white.

Maize meal.
Another thing to do which I haven’t Done but heard people talk about is that after washing the shoe, sprinkle some maize meal on both your shoes and this will apparently soak up all the dirty water and keep the shoe white.

Water + baking soda + laundry detergent.
When I was searching around this was probably the most popular result. Everyone was talking abut this lil mixture so I’m guessing it actually works. So basically what you’re supposed to do first is to rinse your white shoes with some warm water and then make a mixture by mixing in some water, baking soda and some laundry detergent until it’s in a kind of a pasty solution. Then you’re going to use an old tooth brush or any type of brush that you can scrub your shoes with and scrub them until their white. Then for extra measures what you can do is to throw them in the washing machine with some cold water, dry them and then you’re set to go.

Baking soda + vinegar.
This is basically like the one above. What you’ve got to do is rinse your shoes with some warm water and then making a mixture by adding baking soda and some vinegar until its foamy and kind of like a paste and then using a scrub or toothbrush, scrub off the stains and all the dirt. Also, don’t use any metal to stir in the mixture because the metal and the vinegar won’t react well together.

Note : The vinegar used in the above solution is actually replaceable so you could use detergent instead of it. But don’t use any red wine vinegar as this could actually stain your shoes. Actually avoid using any type of colorful solutions.

Toothpaste.
Apply the toothpaste to your dirty shoe using a toothbrush. Use the toothbrush to work the paste into the dirty spots on your shoe. Once it is worked into the shoe, let it sit on your shoe for about 10 minutes. Then take a damp towel and wipe the toothpaste off of your shoe. Repeat this as many times as needed to get all the stains and dirtiness off.

Shoe laces.
Also make sure to take off your laces first to make it easier for you to reach all the dirty spots. To wash the the shoelaces you can just use some cleaning detergent and hand wash them. If they are also stained harshly then you can use the baking powder fomular or just simply scrub them with a strong brush.

Yuup guys so those are some of my tips on how to clean your white converse/sneakers. I hope you guys find this post helpful and if you use any of the above tips do tell me! I would also like to thank Helen for kind of giving me this idea to do this blog post even though I don’t think she knows…

QOTD : HOW DO YOU CLEAN YOUR WHITE SNEAKERS/SHOES?

Stay connected.
Instagram x theeoriginaljay
Twitter x journeylekhulen

image

2 thoughts on “HOW TO CLEAN AND MAINTAIN WHITE CONVERSE.

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours nowadays, yet I never
    found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is pretty worth sufficient for me.
    Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will likely be much more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

